Using Google Forms for Fomative Assessment Within My Flipped DP Chemistry Classroom

This year I’ve worked really hard at increasing my formative assessment so I can modify my teaching and utilize the class time more effectively. This has (until recently) mostly taken the form of exit polls that students complete. These exit polls (a.k.a. closure activies) have been invaluable. See a discussion here about my use of this data and how I have modified my teaching based on this data.

But I wanted to go further than exit polls, and create something along the lines of an entrance poll. Given that I utilize a flipped model, I decided to embed the formative assessment within my videos. I now include what I’ve called Checkpoint Questions. These currently take three forms: multiple choice, free response and calculation. I create notes handouts for students that act as graphic organizers. These notes handouts include the Checkpoint Questions, so students complete them as they go through my videos. Then when they are finished, they take a survey (through Google Forms, linked here) where they provide their answers, optional feedback on my video, and any questions they still have about the content.

In the morning before I set up for the day, I check the results. If quite a few students either don’t answer, or miss the answers to my questions I then start the lesson with the Checkpoint Questions in order to review. Then I create a slide in my daily PowerPoint where I simply copy-and-paste their questions from the video. I address them as needed. This has certainly proven beneficial to the daily routine of my classes.

It’s a bit early in the process for anything definitive in the way of results, but I’m collecting feedback on the method and will keep you updated as things develop.

Until next time.

Lowell

1 Comment

Filed under Flipped Classroom, Pedagogy

One response to “Using Google Forms for Fomative Assessment Within My Flipped DP Chemistry Classroom

  1. Pingback: Hodgkins Chemistry - Awright, Awright, Awright… A Word About Heroes.

Leave a Reply

