Response to ’21 Things That Will Be Obsolete by 2020′ (Alternative Title: How to procrastinate while marking.)

I was going through my Twitter feeds and found a blog post titled, “21 Things That Will Be Obsolete by 2020” at the 21st Century Fluency Project. Catchy title, really.

I agree with a fair amount of what is said, even if I don’t think some of these things will really be obsolete by 2020. That’s only 8 1/2 years away. Not much time to radically shift the paradigm if student desks are really going to disappear in that time. But seeing the list made me reflect/reminisce about a few things from my days as a student. First, as a big guy, I would have loved to see the student desks – many of which I didn’t fit into very well – go away in 1980 instead of 2020. But I think they’ll be around for a while. And paperbacks? NOOOO! I don’t want paperbacks to go away. Yes, I’m a techy-nerd in many ways. But I still love reading a good paperback. And lockers? I loved having a locker. It was my own space at school. A place I could personalize. And students, to this day, still do the same.

So what does all this rambling have to do with my goal of integrating technology into my teaching? Not much. I should be grading student lab reports right now, but my brain needed a break from seeing the same calculations and graphs over and over. Now it’s time to go back to work. And yes, it’s Saturday. Who ever said teachers don’t work on weekends?



Cheers.
Lowell

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

