New Chem-Ed X Blog Post: Reading Non-Fiction in a Chemistry Class

I’ve got a new blog post up with Chem-Ed X about the book we’re reading in my grade 10 chemistry class, The Case of the Frozen Addicts. We’re reading about three chapters per week, and using our one-hour class on Wednesdays exclusively for work with the book. I have used this book a few times before but this is the first time I’ve focused on social media – specifically blogging and Twitter – to help students respond to the text.

If you’re interested in joining the discussion, we use #MT4P for the class hashtag and #FrozenAddicts for any tweet related to the book. The students have also started blogging – although we’re only one blog post into the project, with blog post number 2 currently in the works. If you’re interested in reading the blogs (and commenting too!) check out the “Student Blogs” page from our class blog.

I’ll be writing at least one – but likely two – more post for Chem-Ed X about the book, so check back for more. And let me know if you use any non-fiction books with your science classes. I’d love to know what learning activities you use.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Chemistry, Literacy in Science

Leave a comment