My Twitter Experiment, Benefit 3

I’ve been working on using Twitter in my classroom this year, and one spontaneous benefit was helping to build a sense of community. One of our students had been gone for a while, while two other students were absent. One of my students said something about missing the absent students, so we decided to use the class hashtag (#MT4P) and let them know we missed them.

Below are some of the tweets (shared with student permission). I definitely like the vibe of inclusion present here. And it happened again today, with a few students gone. We sent them “missing you” tweets.

And one of the absent students responded with some thanks for the inclusion.

Do you use Twitter in your classroom? If so, what strategies do you implement to build community?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment